Many users of Android devices will have found multiple image galleries with a Picasa icon that can’t be deleted on their device. By default Google syncs the photos you’ve uploaded to Google+ or shared with Hangouts, but it is indeed possible to delete them by changing your sync options.
This problem arises when your Gmail account is the one that you use as your main address on your Android smartphone or tablet and also used on Google+, automatically syncing the images you upload there to your device. Here’s how to get around this.
- Stop image sync. To do so, you’ll have to access Settings > Accounts > Google. From there you’ll see all the email accounts associated with your device. You need to select the one that you’ve used to create your Google+ account. Then search for the “Google+ Photos” or “Picasa Albums” sections (depending on your version of Android) and untick the box. Then do the same thing with the “Google Photos” box.
- Delete existing albums. You have already changed your settings so new galleries won’t appear, now you’re going to delete the ones that already existed. To do so you need to delete the temporary data created by the gallery by going to Settings > Applications. In the upper tab you’ll go to the “All” section and search for the “Gallery” app. Once there you should tick “Delete data.” And don’t panic—the photos you have stored locally won’t be erased, nor will those you’ve downloaded from other services like WhatsApp, Facebook, or Instagram.